Getting on the green

Blogging about some of the world's best golf holes.

Hole # 1, Rustic Canyon GC, Moorpark, CA

Leave a comment

Hole # 1, par 5, White tees, 495 yards

Getting on the Green - Free Shipping on Callaway at Fairway Golf

Getting on the Green – Free Shipping on Callaway at Fairway Golf

Wished I had Bubba Watson’s pink driver here to tee off on hole # 1 at Rustic Canyon GC in Moorpark, CA. At 495 yards from the white tees, it’s not terribly long but the hole looks a long way from the tee box. Sure it would be nice to drive it long and try to get it on the green in 2 for an eagle putt.

The hole is a dogleg right. It is best to cut some of the corner off on the right but don’t flirt with it. Losing your ball right is not a good idea. Just blast it a little right with a fade and you will be perfect for the second shot. I dropped my tee shot just over the crest and it bounced and rolled for another 30 yards.

I decided to use my Callaway 4-Hybrid Edge for a low boring shot leaving me with a wedge shot to the green. Luckily my ball ended up just short of the dry river bed that is carved in front of the green. I hit a nice high shot that landed hard on the green and bounced off. If you’ve played Rustic Canyon before, you would know how hard it is to stick your ball on the green.

My ball ended up on the apron which at Rustic is like an extended green because it is compact, just like the green is. You can putt right from the apron and your ball will roll as though it was on the putting green. With undulation, it is difficult to get it right, especially on your first hole. I would double bogey, even with a GIR. Putting has to be improved.

Some links that may be interested in:
43% OFF ODYSSEY LIMITED PUTTERS. While Supplies Last. Limited Stock
81% OFF Callaway Tour Drivers. Limited Stock. While Supplies Last
Scotty Cameron Circle T Tour Only Putters. Certified Dealer. First Runs. Tour Rat. Rare and Hard to Find

Author: TonyL

When I started this blog, I wanted to provide golf course reviews but after writing one review, I realized there can be so much more to say about each hole. So here we are, a blog about how each hole plays. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy telling you about the different golf holes I have played.

Leave a comment