Getting on the green

Blogging about some of the world's best golf holes.

Hapuna Golf Course: Challenging First Hole

Leave a comment

It had been at least six years since I had played here and with a lower handicap, I wanted to challenge myself by teeing off from the blue tees. With a 10.5 degrees lofted driver, I average a distance of 230 – 260 yards. From the blue tees at Hapuna Golf Course on the Big Island Hawaii, the start of the fairway looks far, far away. True enough when my tee shot barely reached the fairway. I was shocked at the trajectory because I usually hit a high ball. This was like hitting a 3-iron, low and piercing. When I drove up to my tee shot, I measured it with my Golf Pad app and surely it read 225 yards. The reason why this hole is so tough is because it is an uphill 329 yards par 4. There is so much rough and long grass from the tee box to the fairway that it makes this hole intimidating. What a hole to start with! I would bet that a lot of golf balls are lost on the first tee shot. The second shot to the green is an uphill approach. I ended up using a 8-iron to get up the hill. Yes, it is so steep. Once on the green, marvel the view from up top. It is a beautiful property with ocean vistas.

Author: TonyL

When I started this blog, I wanted to provide golf course reviews but after writing one review, I realized there can be so much more to say about each hole. So here we are, a blog about how each hole plays. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy telling you about the different golf holes I have played.

Leave a comment