Getting on the green

Blogging about some of the world's best golf holes.

Signature Hole, Makani Golf Course

Leave a comment

One of the most challenging holes in golf is an island green. Luckily there are a few in the world for you to choose from. To me, it is a true test of hitting an iron that is on target and lands on the green. I have played several courses that require a carry over water to a green surrounded by water.

Playing Makani Golf Course on the Big Island of Hawaii, gives you that test on # 17. Today I play from the white tees and I am looking at the hole 142 yards away. I chose a 8-iron and hope that I can deliver a smooth, straight shot to the green. I make a few practice swings, clear my mind and take a deep breath.

I hit it and the ball flies straight towards the left side of the green. It barely makes it and lands on the fringe. It was not my best shot but I am glad that my ball is safe. It is hard to see the ball when you drive up in the cart. The island green is really something here at Makani. With a ball safely on the island, I try to enjoy the ride.

Off the fringe, I’m lookring at a long 20 step putt. I decide to aim straight, not seeing any breaks whatsoever. Bingo, it goes in! Birdie on #17 on the signature hole at Makani. Woohoo!

Author: TonyL

When I started this blog, I wanted to provide golf course reviews but after writing one review, I realized there can be so much more to say about each hole. So here we are, a blog about how each hole plays. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy telling you about the different golf holes I have played.

Leave a comment